top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaiya Grant

Support Independent Publishers - Jacaranda

Jacaranda is an independent publisher dedicated to "creating space on the bookshelf for diverse ideas and writers."


Jacaranda is such an amazing publisher which represents those that have been pushed to the sidelines; they provide a platform for their voice to be heard. Jacaranda Books won the Inclusivity in Publishing Award at The International Excellence Awards 2019. In addition to this achievement, they were also nominated as one of the two winners for the London area for the British Book Awards Small Press of the Year. It isn't surprising with initiatives like; Twenty in 2020.

I have mentioned this scheme in passing in previous blogs, but I felt it needed further explanation.

Twenty in 2020 is a fantastic "historical publishing initiative. It is the first time a UK publisher will publish 20 titles by 20 Black British writers in one year. The books include adult fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

The aim of the initiative is to normalize the presence of diverse literature and to amplify the voice of Black Britons as valued members of British culture and society."



However, I find Jacaranda and this initiative to contradictory to what the publishing industry should be. One one hand, I am so happy that my community has a platform to be seen and be represented through this Twenty in 2020 initiative. However, I am so disappointed that we are in the 21st century and never before has a publishing house produced 20 Black British writers in a single year. I find that to be a more prominent representation of the industry and the society we live in than anything anyone could say to describe it. Sadly, the existence of this company and the scheme is necessity. I look forward to the day when these types schemes are no longer needed and we have a diverse range of books on the shelf.


But until then initiative has been producing some excellent works. I have been able to read some quality books from this collection where I can finally see myself as the protagonist such as; If I Don't Have You by Sareeta Domingo. In addition to my most recent read; Love Again by Rasheda Ashanti Malcolm. I whole-heartedly recommend both.


Let's support the independents: https://www.jacarandabooksartmusic.co.uk/collections/twentyin2020


10 October 2020




2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page