top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaiya Grant

Pride and Prejudice (By Jane Austen)

"I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun."


Pride and Prejudice is one of my top favourite 19th Century romance novels (and my absolute favourite film, 2005). I had loved it since I was very young and had always meant to read it. Well, since COVID-19 put a stop to many peoples plans, including my own, I decided it was time. So I picked it up, read it and couldn't put it down.


(Warning: Spoilers)


"What are men to rocks and mountains?"


Elizabeth Bennet was a witty, strong-minded and loyal young woman. For a novel set in the 1800s, you wouldn't think that the humour could still resinate, but it appears to be timeless. This whole novel seems to transcend time, as it speaks of women's right to choose in many areas of their lives, but perhaps the most important; love. Elizabeth turned down two men (one of which she would later accept) because she wished to exert her right to say no. She used her right to choose. This is still a huge issue in today's society. But now, instead of having to say yes to marriage to prevent your family from financial ruin, society tells us that we have to sleep with a man to avoid being thought of as being a prude or social ruin. It says that 'boys will be boys', instead of holding them accountable for their actions. #metoo


Jane Austen created a female lead in a man's world, where they all (apart from Mr Bennet, we love Mr Bennet) demanded that she abandon her views and do as she was told. Instead, Austen gives Elizabeth agency to choose her path in her own time. From this book, I think it is clear that she was all for women's rights. Austen emphasises how vital choice is and what happens when people practice that choice without all the facts. Yes, Mr Wickham, I am looking at you.


From the beginning of the novel, Mr Darcy's pride and awareness of his social standing forbid him from forming an attachment with Elizabeth. Her place in society alone was almost enough for Darcy to turn away from her and never look back. But we see him slowly becoming more enchanted with her after each interaction. He is intrigued by her willful nature.


"In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you."


When Mr Darcy first asks Elizabeth to marry him, he is assuming that due to his wealth and upper-class status, that she will say yes. At this moment, his pride blinds him to her true nature which does not cling to covet the material things of life. He doesn't yet fully see Elizabeth for who she is. He thinks that she will be grateful that someone as low as herself has been blessed enough to consider a proposal with such an amiable man. Elizabeth "could easily see that he had no doubt of a favourable answer. He spoke of apprehension and anxiety, but his countenance expressed real security."

But she doesn't feel that way at all. She hated his arrogance and the hand he had in ruining her sister's happiness.


It goes a lot better the second time around. But by this point, Darcy had won her respect and therefore, her love. He set aside his pride and fixed his wrongdoings towards her family. He held his hands up, he opened up to her and showed her the reasoning behind his quick judgement. For this reasoning, she opened her heart to him and dismissed her ill-informed opinions about him that she had made earlier. They met on an equal footing. There wasn't any misconceptions or any social standings anymore. They were just two people that have judged without understanding. But they were joined together by a recognition of their faults and their love for the people behind them.


This was a true love story, and for so long it has been my goal to find a Chapter 58 Mr Darcy of my own. This story has made me laugh (Mr Collins, what a guy), cry and rejoice for so many different reasons. And Mr Collins fits into all three; I laughed at his inability to read a room. I cried at his total lack of tact in many situations, and I rejoiced when Elizabeth turned him down.

It has been a pleasure to read the intricate thoughts of Elizabeth Bennet and understand the inner complexities of Mr Darcy. It is understandable why this novel is etched into the fabric of English Literature. Pride and Prejudice will always have a place in my heart.






4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page